Focuses on character development and careful plotting.  Traditional mysteries involving historical settings that shy away from the gory.

Friends of Pancho Villa

By |2021-09-09T20:32:29+00:00September 13th, 2021|Historical/Thriller|

The Friends of Pancho Villa Mysterious Book Report No. 238 by John Dwaine McKenna LEST WE FORGET: A little over one hundred years ago, on March 9, 1916, a force of roughly 500 heavily armed men mounted on horseback and under the command of a cattle thief and bandit, rode up and out of the Sonoran Desert from Mexico.  Under cover of night, thirty miles North of the international

Hold Fast

By |2021-05-06T18:52:57+00:00May 10th, 2021|Historical/Thriller, Mysterious Book Report|

Hold Fast Mysterious Book Report No. 448 by John Dwaine McKenna Just in time for the start of the summer reading season, a brand-new author has brought out the first volume of what we hope will be a long-running seafaring series in the tradition of Patrick O’Brian and Bernard Corwell. Hold Fast, (Norton, $25.95, 256 pages, ISBN 978-0-393-86704-6) by J.H. Gelernter, opens in England, in the year of our

Basil’s War

By |2021-04-29T19:15:06+00:00May 3rd, 2021|Historical/Thriller, Mysterious Book Report, Spy/Thriller|

Basil’s War Mysterious Book Report No. 447 by John Dwaine McKenna Author Stephen Hunter—who wrote the popular and best-selling series featuring a Viet Nam era sniper named Bob Lee Swagger—has just come up with a new character from an earlier and bigger conflict, whose name is Basil St. Florian.  He’s a WWII British Army Captain, a master of wit, wine and women . . . as well as a

Germania

By |2020-12-08T20:19:58+00:00December 14th, 2020|Historical/Thriller, Mysterious Book Report|

Germania Mysterious Book Report No. 429 by John Dwaine McKenna In author Harald Gilbers searing new novel of Nazi Berlin entitled, Germania, (Thomas Dunn Books, $28.99, 352 pages, ISBN 978-1-250-24693-6), The German public is beginning to question Nazi propaganda about the war effort, the so-called “Final Solution” is in full swing, and a diabolical serial killer is on the loose, slaughtering courtesan women, then ritualistically posing their bodies in

Fortune Favors The Dead

By |2020-11-12T19:41:05+00:00November 16th, 2020|Historical/Thriller, Murder Mystery, Mysterious Book Report|

Fortune Favors The Dead Mysterious Book Report No. 427 by John Dwaine McKenna Fortune Favors The Dead, (Doubleday, $26.95, 336 pages, ISBN 978-0-3855-4655-3), is the first novel from author Stephen Spotswood.  It takes place in New York City in 1945, and features a pair of female private eyes in the style and manner of Rex Stout, with Lillian Pentecost, “the most famous woman detective in the city and possible

The Red Horse

By |2020-10-29T21:07:24+00:00November 2nd, 2020|Historical/Thriller, Mysterious Book Report|

The Red Horse Mysterious Book Report No. 425 by John Dwaine McKenna If you’re a fan of WWII historical fiction, as the MBR is, and lament the passing of the late Philip Kerr, as the MBR does, we’d like to bring your attention to the long-running, meticulously well-researched and award-winning Billy Boyle series by author James R. Benn. In his newest and just released 17th adventure, The Red Horse,

Silver Wings, Iron Cross

By |2020-07-07T20:53:49+00:00July 13th, 2020|Historical/Thriller, Mysterious Book Report|

Silver Wings, Iron Cross Mysterious Book Report No. 409 by John Dwaine McKenna Whether you’re a fan of history, action-adventure stories or hair-raising thrillers—maybe even all three, as I am—an exciting reading treat is in store for all those who get their hands on a copy of a new WWII thriller entitled, Silver Wings, Iron Cross, (Kensington Publishing, $27.00, 376 pages, ISBN 978-1-4967-3040-5) by Tom Young, whose work is

Silver Wings Iron Cross

By |2020-06-18T20:49:54+00:00June 22nd, 2020|Historical/Thriller, Mysterious Book Report|

Silver Wings, Iron Cross Mysterious Book Report No. 409 by John Dwaine McKenna Whether you’re a fan of history, action-adventure stories or hair-raising thrillers—maybe even all three, as I am—an exciting reading treat is in store for all those who get their hands on a copy of a new WWII thriller entitled, Silver Wings, Iron Cross, (Kensington Publishing, $27.00, 376 pages, ISBN 978-1-4967-3040-5) by Tom Young, whose work is

This Storm

By |2019-12-17T20:51:26+00:00March 9th, 2020|Historical/Thriller, Mysterious Book Report|

This Storm Mysterious Book Report No. 381 by John Dwaine McKenna The writer James Ellroy is a genius, and a living legend who follows no rules but his own.  He cuts, slashes and burns the English language however he sees fit, then reassembles it at will in his own inimical style to bring forth what can only be called masterpieces of American literature.  He writes fiction; he writes about

Forgiveness Dies

By |2019-11-12T21:01:09+00:00November 18th, 2019|Historical/Thriller, Mysterious Book Report|

Forgiveness Dies Mysterious Book Report No. 396 by John Dwaine McKenna Serial character Trevor Galloway is a former Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania narcotics detective, an unlicensed private investigator and an ex-mental patient who’s just been released from three years in a psychiatric hospital for being a serial killer in author J.J. Hensley’s newly released crime thriller entitled Forgiveness Dies, (Down & Out Books, PB, $16.95, 234 pages, ISBN 978-1-64396-038-8). Zonked out

Go to Top